PDA

View Full Version : Long Road Home OOC

Terra
05-30-2011, 05:55 PM
This is my first attempt at creating a Roleplay on this specific site, and I hope this will be a good one. This is an idea I’ve attempted at less active forums, and the results have been.... disappointing to say the least due to many people not posting after we established the story. This is a character based Roleplay in a reasonably hard sci fi setting (although the hard sci fi setting will only be temporary as the story progresses) about the 87 year journey of the first Extra solar starship from Earth to Alpha Centauri. I’ve dedicated myself to nailing down lots of the science behind the setting, and limitations, but for now let’s enjoy ourselves in this Roleplay?

It’s the year 2219 AD, and for centuries humanity has been further constrained on Earth. The fantasies of Faster than Light Travel have proved to be just that and the myths of alien species filling the galaxy, living in harmonious existence is untrue as far as we know. We drift alone. However Humanity will not be deterred from exploration. The first Space craft capable of leaving our humble system is being dispatched to the nearest star system in response to odd transmissions there.

The UES Valor and her crew will be on an 87 year two way journey (43.5 years to get there, 43.5 to get back to Earth) to Alpha centauri to explore odd transmissions being sent out there.

You are all the most qualified and hand-picked members of the whole of the Earth. You, as the crew of the Valor, will go forth and explore the Galaxy, to find enemies, allies or mysteries? Will you find new marvels and amazing exhibitions of life and prosperity on the galaxy, or will you merely confirm the mindset of the pessimists, that we do indeed we drift alone?